15/7/2017: Texas to Santa Cruz (Not Brazil)

 

_MG_3103Earlier in the program I talked about the similarities between certain aspects of Southern culture and certain aspects of Bolivian culture. Most of those were pointed out by Dr. Miguel on a 15 minutes teleférico ride, but they still rang true and I was able to find more on my own not too long after.

I was able to find more of these during our visit to Texas Santa Cruz. The most obvious was state, or rather departmental, pride. Much like Texas (who saw that coming?) Santa Cruz is very proud of its heritage and departmental culture. Most, if not all, of the flags I saw in Santa Cruz were the departmental flag: the white of purity and the green of agriculture. How much more Texas can you get? or is it the other way around?

But deeper than the surface similarities are the similarities between race and ethnicity issues. Much like Texas, Santa Cruz found itself in a period of stark division when it came to race and ethnic status. But to be fair, so has most (if not all) of Latin America at one point.

For the rest of the time that we are here in Bolivia, I’ll be keeping an eye out for any more similarities. This is something that I would like to research outside of the program because I find southern culture itself very interesting.

(Fun Fact: There is a town in Texas called Santa Cruz)

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

