Five Days Out

Hey, everyone, my name is Jim Moore. I’m from Tuscaloosa, Alabama–but we don’t talk about that–where you can find the University of Alabama, among other things. I’m now a rising sophomore at Ole Miss and in Croft. I’m double majoring in International Studies and Spanish while trying to pick up a minor in Anthropology. I found out about this program through Dr. Kate’s Latin American Studies class this past semester. I highly recommend taking her LA Studies course if you haven’t yet. I decided to sign up for the program because studying abroad is something that I’ve always loved doing. The first time I studied abroad was between my junior and senior years of high school when I studied in Seville, Spain. Since then, I’ve had a passion for Spanish, Hispanic , and Latin culture.

I’m hoping to gain as much knowledge about Latin culture while we’re in Bolivia, as well as to improve my Spanish speaking abilities. I’ve been doing my own research on La Paz and Bolivia as a whole and can honestly say that’s only amplified my interest in the program. I’m beyond excited to be there. Outside of academics, I would really like to get as much solid footage as I can while we travel. I will be bringing my GoPro gear with me–and hopefully my DSLR if I can convince my parents that’s okay. Photography, specifically landscape and city-scape photography, is something that I really enjoy and I’m hoping to bring back as much material as I can.

I’m not too worried about the language barrier since I’ve already been exposed to Spanish in a country where it’s the primary language and because my own Spanish speaking skills are pretty decent. That being said I’m sure I’ll run into a problem or two somewhere but that’s one of the reasons I love to travel: to learn. I’m pumped to be in La Paz with all of you and I hope we all have a great time. ¡Nos vemos pronto!

One thought on “Five Days Out

Add yours

  1. I think you’ll enjoy your time here. And certainly you’ll have a lot of great views to take pictures of. But be prepared to have your Spanish challenged … in a good way. Although Bolivians speak Spanish, like most Latin Americans they speak a different dialect. You’ll have no trouble engaging in conversations, but you’ll find a lot of new vocabulary (some of Aymara words that have been incorporated into paceño Spanish). But that’s part of the joy of traveling! Don’t be shy about asking for explanations for words/phrases you don’t understand. Bolivians (like most Spanish speakers) can understand “standard” dialects easily enough to “translate” between them, even if they mostly speak their own colloquial dialect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

